Skye

Dog Info
Status: Available
Gender: Male
Age: 11 years
Color: Liver & white
Variety: Field
Weight in pounds: 45
Intake number: 2018-421 MI
Description:

Springers for Seniors

Click the logo at the right to read about the benefits of adopting one of our special senior dogs.

Hi, everyone! My name is Skye. I lived happily with my human dad for more than eleven years, and we were best buddies. My full name is actually Skye Buddy! Sadly, Daddy passed away this fall, and his family asked ESRA to help find me a new home. After my dad got sick, we did not get out much anymore, so now my foster mom is helping me adjust to my new life.

My daddy took really great care of me, and I am in wonderful health. I did recently have to have this thing called a neuter done, and I will tell you that it was not much fun being cooped up in a crate with a funny collar on for a couple of weeks. The vet tech called me "rambunctious." (Is that a good thing or not?) Anyway, I am all healed up now and ready for my next adventure.

I love taking long walks with my foster mom and my foster dog brother. He is only six years old, but I can keep up with him just fine. We usually do a couple of miles in the morning and a couple more miles before it gets dark, plus a lot of short potty walks. Sometimes when my foster mom is working in the yard, I just hang out with her off leash. There is no fence, but I stay close by to watch her, even when my foster brother wants to take off! I like swimming, too. I got to jump into the lake a few times before the water became too cold.

I get really excited when it is time for a car ride, and I jump right in to go. Maybe I should be a little more discriminating, since some of those trips were not for walks in the woods but rather to the vet's office. I did do fine there (except for the rambunctious part), and they said I pretty much ignored the resident cat. My groomer said I was very well-behaved when she trimmed my feathers and paws and gave me a bath. I got to spend the night at a dog hotel one time, and the lady there said I was the nicest boy ever – I gave her lots of kisses. So I come with a lot of excellent references!

When she leaves the house, my foster mom always crates both me and my foster brother because he is a holy terror if he's left to his own devices. I kind of like my crate, even though I howl for a little while when she is leaving (but that's just so she knows I will miss her). I have never had an accident in the house and I do not mess with anything that is not mine.

Although there are dog beds all over the house, I prefer to spend my time as close to Mom as I can, even if I am on the not-so-soft floor. I guess that makes me a Velcro Springer. I like to sit on the couch and get petted while she watches TV, and I sleep on the bed with her and my foster brother at night.

Once my foster mom’s young grandkids, ages four and six, came over to visit. Even though they were noisy and they ran around a lot, I had a marvelous time with them! I would probably be a good fit for a family of any size, as long as there was someone home most of the time.

Maybe the only thing about me that is not quite perfect is that I bark when I need to go out, and I bark when I am ready to eat, and I bark when I have something important to say. I think Mom just needs to learn to speak "dog" a little better.

Here are a few more details about me: I like to swim and be near the water, I am starting to like to chase and return tennis balls, I am getting pretty good at the command Sit, I love chicken and rice mixed in with my kibble, I take treats so gently, AND I am super handsome!

Well, that's enough about me. I would like to get to know you better now. My ears are perked, my interest is piqued, and my happy tail is wagging! Please contact our state coordinator right away so we can meet. I'll be waiting!

Love,
Skye

Please submit an Online Adoption Application. It is always the first step in our adoption process.

 

Contact Information
Contact Name: Kim Marvin, Michigan coordinator
Address:
Pinckney, Michigan




Please select response(s): I have already submitted an application.I have been approved already.I will be submitting an application.I am a previous adopter.Not applicable (shelter listing)


Donate