Duncan

Dog Info
Status: Available
Gender: Male
Age: 9 years
Color: Black & white
Variety: Field
Weight in pounds: 40
Intake number: 2018-027OH
Description:

Hi, everyone! My name is Duncan, and my family asked for ESRA's help after their new human baby arrived. The bouncing bundle of joy made me really anxious, and since I have limited vision, I couldn't tell where those strange newborn noises were coming from. I just couldn't relax.

I am nine years old, and I have a lot of love to give. I was diagnosed with diabetes a few years ago, and while that has affected my eyesight, I don't let it get me down. Once I learn the lay of the land, I can see enough to get around. When I came to my foster home, my foster mom took it slow and let me learn my way around the main level of the house before she introduced the stairs and the second level. Now I'm familiar with the entire house! My nose and ears make up for what I can't see. I know there are noisy house sparrows roosting in Mom's magnolia tree, and I like to tell them to settle down.

I enjoy taking leash walks around the block, and I do fine with just a little help around street signs because sometimes I don't see them soon enough. And I LOVE to ride in the car! Mom takes me on errands with her when the weather isn't too hot or too cold. I am housetrained, and I really don't need to be crated when I'm left home alone. I don't bother a thing.

There must be a clock in my belly because it tells me when to give Mom a report about the time. It is always before I should eat, since I have to eat when I'm given insulin. We stay on a schedule (despite my forlorn looks when I want to eat sooner!). I don't complain when Mom gives me my insulin injections twice a day, and I like the special dog food she gives me to help keep my levels normal. I do have some stiff joints, so when my Mom noticed me limping a bit, she started giving me some really good joint supplements.

I'm a very good boy, and I am happy to hang out on the family room sofa just enjoying the day. And I sleep with my mom. (In case you didn't know, that's a prerequisite for Springers.) There is a cat that lives here, too. He kind of likes me, and he comes around me while I'm eating, but I don't care. Mom gives him some food, too. And sometimes he sleeps on the bed with us.

I'm also a good boy at the vet. My vet is diabetic like me, and she really helps me be healthy. There was another dog at my first home, but I am really happy as an only dog here in my foster home. Mom is around a lot, so I don't have to spend hours and hours by mysef. If I were to share my Forever Home with another dog, I would like it to be an older, calmer dog. I'm past the crazy puppy stage of life! And I would be happier and less anxious with older children, preferably teenagers. So if you have room in your home and your heart for a soft senior gentleman, I'm your guy.

Love,
Duncan

From Duncan's foster mom: Duncan is up to date on all vetting, is neutered, and is microchipped. For his diabetes, he takes an injectable insulin, the cost of which is less than twenty dollars per month including syringes. He eats and gets his insulin injections twice a day, equally spaced at twelve hours apart. I feed him a special food for diabetic dogs, which has helped keep him balanced. He will most likely need to keep taking the joint supplement tablets that have benefited him. And continued daily short walks should build up muscle and keep him limber. He is learning to let me help him with the car and stairs.

Duncan is such a cutie, and he is a very sweet dog who loves to be near his people. If you think this charming boy is just right for you, please contact his case manager at the email address below. You'll be glad you did!

Please submit an Online Adoption Application. It is always the first step in our adoption process.

 

Contact Information
Contact Name: Angie Mesarchik, ESRA Case Manager
Address:
Cincinnati, Ohio




Please select response(s): I have already submitted an application.I have been approved already.I will be submitting an application.I am a previous adopter.Not applicable (shelter listing)


Donate