Chester

Dog Info
Status: PENDING ADOPTION!
Gender: Male
Age: 18 months
Color: Black & white
Variety: Mixed breed
Weight in pounds: 30
Intake number: 2018-359 OH
Description:

Hi, everyone! My name is Chester, and I'm looking for my Forever Family. I came to ESRA after a nice woman found me running down the road all alone. I wasn't chipped, and I wasn't wearing any ID. She reported me as a found dog to the county dog warden, but no one came to claim me as theirs. So as soon as my stray hold was up, I became an ESRA dog. Now I'm safe and happy!

As you can tell from my pictures, I'm not a purebred Springer. We think that I might have some setter and/or some border collie in my genes. But like many Springers, I'm a Velcro dog. I love affection, and one of my favorite things is cuddling with my foster mom. I also love to play with toys and with other dogs. There are two resident dogs in my foster home, and I get along with both of them. And I am proud to say that I'm okay with the cat, too. I don't want to chase her. In fact, Mom caught me licking the cat's face the other day. What can I say? She's a sweet kitty! I would love it if my Forever Family included a playful doggie brother or sister, as I really would be happiest with a playmate.

Since I was a stray, we don't know much about my past, but I am happy to report that I am housetrained and crate trained, and I ride well in the car. I walk nicely on a leash, and Mom says that I have good off-leash recall. She says that I'm a pretty smart boy -- and that I smile more than any dog she's ever met! I love to please, and she thinks that I would be great at agility or flyball. I haven't been exposed to water since coming to ESRA, so I don't know if I'd like swimming or not.

Even though I'm estimated to be about eighteen months old, I am still very much a puppy, which means that I need some work on my manners. My Forever Family must be willing and able to continue my obedience training. That will help me become the best dog I can be. And because I'm young and still learning, I should not be in a family with small children. Like many puppies, I jump a lot, and I can be grabby when food is involved. Children aged twelve and older would be okay. Mom currently feeds me in my crate because I'm in a multi-dog household, and there was some growling from me early on. I'm getting better about eating with other dogs around, and with time, I can probably graduate out of the crate at meal time.

Like all ESRA dogs, I am fully vetted. This means that I have been vaccinated and neutered, and I have tested negative for heartworm and tick-borne diseases. I am microchipped and am on monthly heartworm, flea, and tick prevention. So I'm ready and eager to find my Forever Home! If you think I would be the perfect new member of your family, please contact my foster mom at the email address below.

Love and cuddles,
Chester

Please submit an Online Adoption Application. It is always the first step in our adoption process.

 

Contact Information
Contact Name: Elizabeth Hall, Foster Mom
Address:
Powell, Ohio




Please select response(s): I have already submitted an application.I have been approved already.I will be submitting an application.I am a previous adopter.Not applicable (shelter listing)


Donate